Quartetto Prometeo – Šostakóvič

6.15 pm | Palazzo Ducale, Sala dei Fiumi


Prometheus Quartet
Giulio Rovighi violin
Aldo Campagnari violin
Danusha Waskiewicz viola
Francesco Dillon cello

D. Šostakóvič (1906-1975)
Quartet No. 8 in C minor op. 110


35′ | Admission €10

One of today’s most important Italian quartets brings the famous and highly celebrated Quartet n. 8 by Šostakovič. Dedicated to the victims of all wars and of Fascism (but perhaps it would be better to say, of all dictatorships, including the Stalinist one), the Soviet composer constructs this masterpiece as a series of self-quotations, in a crescendo of intensity and ferocity that leads to two slow and mournful concluding movements.

Quartetto Prometeo - Šostakóvič

June 4th 2023 – 6.15 pm
Palazzo Ducale, Sala dei Fiumi